Same Same, But Different

Vacation to Thailand.  Occurred Jan. 23 – Feb. 1, 2010, Written Feb. 10, 2010.

Day 1

Thailand was supposed to be the greatest vacation ever.  My spirits were high as I imagined a vacation of epic proportions.  It had so many things going for it.  For starters, a university buddy of mine, Grant, who I hadn’t seen in years was to meet me in Bangkok.  Plus I had a good friend, Isaac, who lived in Bangkok.  After a weekend of tom-foolery and wild debaucheries in Bangkok, Grant and I would head to Kho Pha Ngan, the Thai island famous for full moon parties and other forms of trouble (both legal and not so legal).  I would throw the guide book in trash can and let the wind guide the two of us; two handsome bachelors on a whirlwind tour of Southeast Asia.

Sadly, Grant grant canceled just 10 days before the trip.  He cited work and girlfriend conflicts.  This was a disaster.  What was I supposed to do? I sulked and whined.  A huge problem was I couldn’t go to Kho Pha Ngan anymore.  Without Grant to split the bill with, I couldn’t afford the hotels and there would be no discount on air travel that I would have gotten by purchasing two tickets.  Where was I gonna go?  How would I get there?  Argh!

After a couple hours of non-productive whining, I decided I needed a change of heart.  I was suffering from severe culture shock from living in Korea and I needed a temporary reprieve to recharge my batteries.

I was going on this vacation no matter what and damn it, I was going to have a good time too!  Now I just needed to solve the small problem of figuring out where I was going, how I would get there, and do it all without a guidebook.  Not to mention the problem of traveling alone.

I hopped on the flight to Bangkok from Seoul with a quick layover in Hong Kong.  I took a hot, crowded bus that dropped me off near Isaac’s house.

Isaac and I are like peas and carrots.  We were coworkers at a school in Seoul that can only be described as Hell minus all the cool people.  I think he’s the funniest guy in the world.  He thinks I’m the funniest guy in the world.  We’re perfect for each other.  Dare I say it’s man love?  Yes, I do dare.

Isaac recently became engaged to Karen; a Kiwi he met while he was still working in Seoul.  The three of went out for drinks with their other friends.  To be honest, I didn’t much like their other friends.  They love to tell each other how wonderful they all are.  It was a lot of people looking for approval.  I didn’t feel like sitting around for this mutual back-patting session and Isaac and I left.

We walked down the street to a food vendor selling some miscellaneous animal parts on rice and took a seat.  We ordered a giant Chang beer which turned into many Chang beers.

Down the street from Isaac's

We dished the dirt on our lives, our women, our frustrations, and our goals.  Of course we told fantastic jokes, jokes so funny the world would have laughed along with us.

I asked Isaac where I should go.  He said he had a map of Thailand and I could pick somewhere random.  Sounded like a good plan to me.

It was a good first day.

1 Comment

Filed under comedy, Humour, Travel

One response to “Same Same, But Different

  1. Carley

    fav quote of this post – “like hell minus all the cool people”

Leave a Reply

